Skip to main content
Discover YA Debuts

Scroll down to discover sneak peeks, samplers, and author videos from new Penguin Young Adult voices coming Summer 2022!

Connect with Us on Social

The Noh Family by Grace K. Shim

The Noh Family

Grace K. Shim

A sparkling K-drama inspired debut teen novel by Grace Shim, THE NOH FAMILY introduces irrepressibly charming teen Chloe Chang, who is reunited with her deceased father's estranged family via a DNA test, and is soon whisked off to Seoul to join them...

When her friends gift her a 23-and-Me test as a gag, high school senior Chloe Chang doesn’t think much of trying it out. She doesn’t believe anything will come of it—she’s an only child, her mother is an orphan, and her father died in Seoul before she was even born, and before her mother moved to Oklahoma. It’s been just Chloe and her mom her whole life. But the DNA test reveals something Chloe never expected—she’s got a whole extended family from her father’s side half a world away in Korea. Her father's family are owners of a famous high-end department store, and are among the richest families in Seoul. When they learn she exists, they are excited to meet her. Her mother has huge reservations, she hasn’t had a great relationship with her husband’s family, which is why she’s kept them secret, but she can’t stop Chloe from travelling to Seoul to spend two weeks getting to know the Noh family.
 
Chloe is whisked into the lap of luxury, but something feels wrong. Chloe wants to shake it off—she’s busy enjoying the delights of Seoul with new friend Miso Dan, the daughter of one of her mother’s grade school friends. And as an aspiring fashion designer, she's loving the couture clothes her department store owning family gives her access to. But soon Chloe will discover the reason why her mother never told her about her dad’s family, and why the Nohs wanted her in Seoul in the first place. Could joining the Noh family be worse than having no family at all?

Click here to start reading

More from the author:

I Guess I Live Here Now by Claire Ahn

I Guess I Live Here Now

Claire Ahn

"Like the very best K-drama bottled up in a book." —Maurene Goo, author of Somewhere Only We Know
 
For fans of Never Have I Ever and Crazy Rich Asians, this effervescent debut takes readers on a journey to the place where trends are born—Seoul, Korea—where Melody Lee unwillingly moves with her family and must start a new life, a new school...and maybe a new romance.

Melody always wanted to get to know the Korean side of her Korean American heritage better, but not quite like this. Thanks to a tiny transgression after school one day, she's shocked to discover that her parents have decided to move her and her mom out of New York City to join her father in Seoul—immediately! Barely having the chance to say goodbye to her best friend before she's on a plane, Melody is resentful, angry, and homesick.
 
But she soon finds herself settling into their super luxe home, meeting cool friends at school, and discovering the alluring aspects of living in Korea--trendsetting fashion, delectable food, her dad's black card, and a cute boy to hang out with. Life in Seoul is amazing...until cracks begin to form on its shiny surface. Troubling family secrets, broken friendships, and a lost passion are the prices Melody has to pay for her new life, but is it worth it? 
 
Claire Ahn's charming debut lets you taste every bite of kalbi, bathe in the glow of Seoul's neon lights, and feel every high and low of Melody's journey across the world and within her heart. 

Click here to start reading

More from the author:

TJ Powar Has Something to Prove by Jesmeen Kaur Deo

TJ Powar Has Something to Prove

Jesmeen Kaur Deo

A charming rom-com about high school debater TJ Powar who—after becoming the subject of an ugly meme—makes a resolution to stop shaving, plucking, and waxing, and prove that she can be her hairy self and still be beautiful...but soon finds this may be her most difficult debate yet. Perfect for fans of Netflix’s Never Have I Ever.

When TJ Powar—a pretty, popular debater—and her cousin Simran become the subject of a meme: with TJ being the “expectation” of dating an Indian girl and her Sikh cousin who does not remove her body hair being the “reality”—TJ decides to take a stand.
 
She ditches her razors, cancels her waxing appointments, and sets a debate resolution for herself: “This House Believes That TJ Powar can be her hairy self, and still be beautiful.” Only, as she sets about proving her point, she starts to seriously doubt anyone could care about her just the way she is—even when the infuriating boy from a rival debate team seems determined to prove otherwise.
 
As her carefully crafted sense of self begins to crumble, TJ realizes that winning this debate may cost her far more than the space between her eyebrows. And that the hardest judge to convince of her arguments might just be herself. 

Click here to start reading

More from the author:

A Heavy Dose of Allison Tandy by Jeff Bishop

A Heavy Dose of Allison Tandy

Jeff Bishop

Instant Karma meets I Wish You All the Best in a funny and heartfelt debut about a boy’s delirious summertime quest with his ex-girlfriend.

The summer after senior year should have been a time for Cam to party and hang out with his friends. It should also have been a time for him to win back the love of his life, Allison Tandy, who'd dumped him so brutally the year before.
 
But it quickly becomes clear that this summer is going to be worse than a failure for Cam. It's going to be a tragedy.
 
Ally is left comatose after a terrible car crash, then Cam tears his ACL in a basketball accident. The operation leaves him in agony, confined to his couch and ruminating over the fact that his ex may not survive.
 
But when (after taking his medication) Cam starts seeing Ally, he starts to think: 1. He may be headed for a complete mental breakdown and 2. This summer might just be interesting afterall.
 
Brimming with honesty and humor, A Heavy Dose of Allison Tandy interrogates how much control we really have over matters of love—and life.

Click here to start reading

More from the author:

But wait... there's more!

Explore the samplers and author videos from previous seasons.

The Bone Spindle by Leslie Vedder
The Bone Spindle by Leslie Vedder

The Bone Spindle

Leslie Vedder

Start Reading

Watch the Author Video

And We Rise by Erica Martin
And We Rise by Erica Martin

And We Rise

Erica Martin

Start Reading

Watch the Author Video

Sunny G's Series of Rash Decisions by Navdeep Singh Dhillon
Sunny G's Series of Rash Decisions by Navdeep Singh Dhillon

Sunny G's Series of Rash Decisions

Navdeep Singh Dhillon

Start Reading

Watch the Author Video

Hotel Magnifique by Emily J. Taylor
Hotel Magnifique by Emily J. Taylor

Hotel Magnifique

Emily J. Taylor

Start Reading

Watch the Author Video

Back to top