JOIN JONATHAN'S VIRTUAL BOOK TOUR!

January 10th at 7:00 PM PT / 10:00 PM ET

Register Now: Hosted by Annie Bloom’s Books

in conversation with Eileen Garvin

.

January 11th at 7:00 PM PT, *In Person*

Register Now: Hosted by Eagle Harbor

in conversation with Jim Thomsen

.

.January 12nd at 7:00 PM PT / 10:00 PM ET

Register Now: Hosted by Third Place Books

in conversation with bookstore owner, Robert Sindelar

.

January 13th at 4:00 PM PT / 7:00 PM ET

Register Now: Hosted by Cuyahoga County Library

in conversation with Kristin Hannah

..

January 16th at 4:00 PM PT / 7:00 PM ET

Register Now: Hosted by Book Passage + Rakestraw

in conversation with Jason Mott

..

January 17th at 6:00 PM PT / 9:00 PM ET

Register Now: Hosted by Book Catapult + Book Soup

in conversation with Benjamin Percy

..

January 18th at 7:00 PM PT, *In Person*

Register Now: Hosted by Village Books

..

January 26th at 5:00 PM PT / 8:00 PM ET

Register Now: Hosted by Books & Company and Boswell

About the Book

Jonathan Evison’s Small World is an epic novel for now. Set against such iconic backdrops as the California gold rush, the development of the transcontinental railroad, and a speeding train of modern-day strangers forced together by fate, it is a grand entertainment that asks big questions.
 
The characters of Small World connect in the most intriguing and meaningful ways, winning, breaking, and winning our hearts again. In exploring the passengers’ lives and those of their ancestors more than a century before, Small World chronicles 170 years of American nation-building from numerous points of view across place and time. And it does it with a fullhearted, full-throttle pace that asks on the most human, intimate scale whether it is truly possible to meet, and survive, the choices posed—and forced—by the age.
 
The result is a historical epic with a Dickensian flair, a grand entertainment that asks whether our nation has made good on its promises. It dazzles as its characters come to connect with one another through time. And it hits home as it probes at our country’s injustices, big and small, straight through to its deeply satisfying final words.

Preorder your copy of Jonathan Evison’s Small World!
Jonathan Evison, author of SMALL WORLD

Photo: © Keith Brofsky

Jonathan Evison

Jonathan Evison is the author of the novels All About Lulu; West of Here; The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving; This Is Your Life, Harriet Chance!; Lawn Boy; and Legends of the North Cascades. He lives with his wife and family in Washington State.

Sign me up for news about Jonathan Evison as well as updates about books and more from Penguin Random House.

By clicking Sign Up, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House's Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.