Skip to main content

Coming September 28, 2021
Pre-order Your Copy Today!

Pony by R. J. Palacio
Pony by R. J. Palacio

International Editions:

UK: Amazon.ukBlackwell's | Eason | Waterstones

Australia: Penguin.au

India: Amazon.in

Italy: Amazon.it

Germany: Amazon.de

Spain: Amazon.es

Switzerland: Orell Füssli

South Africa: Exclusive Books

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Wonder comes a new American classic.

Twelve-year-old Silas is awoken in the dead of night by three horsemen who arrive unannounced to take his father away. Silas is left shaken, scared, and alone, except for the presence of his companion, Mittenwool . . . who happens to be a ghost. But when a pony shows up at his door, Silas knows what he has to do. He will set out on a perilous journey across a vast American landscape to find his father—a journey that will ultimately connect him with his past and future, and the unfathomable mysteries of the world around him.

R.J. Palacio spins a harrowing yet distinctly beautiful tale about the power of love and the connections that bind us across the expanses of distance and time. For young readers who love the poignant depth of The Yearling or Because of Winn-Dixie, and adult fans of True Grit or the lean, searing prose of Cormac McCarthy, this is one of those rare books for readers of all ages with the makings of a modern classic.

Watch the exclusive book trailer here:

R. J. Palacio

R. J. Palacio

R.J. Palacio is the author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Wonder, which has sold over 12 million copies worldwide. The book's message inspired the Choose Kind movement and has been embraced by readers around the world, with the book published in over 50 languages. Wonder was made into a blockbuster movie starring Julia Roberts, Owen Wilson, and Jacob Tremblay. Palacio’s other bestselling books include 365 Days of Wonder: Mr. Browne’s Book of PreceptsAuggie & Me: Three Wonder Stories, the picture book We’re All Wonders, and the graphic novel White Bird, which is currently being filmed as a major motion picture starring Gillian Anderson and Helen Mirren. Palacio lives in Brooklyn with her husband, two sons, and two dogs.

Pony Virtual Book Launch Event

PONY VIRTUAL LAUNCH EVENT

R.J. PALACIO in conversation with JOSH RADNOR

Join bestselling author of WONDER, R.J. Palacio for a celebration of her new novel, PONY!

RJ will be in conversation with actor, writer, director, and musician Josh Radnor. The virtual event will take place on Thursday, September 30th at 8 PM ET/7 PM CT/5 PM PT live on Zoom Webinar. Your ticket includes admission to this exclusive and one-night-only event and a hardcover copy of PONY. Please contact the listed hosting bookstore with any questions. We can’t wait to see you there!

*Please note that this virtual event is happening at the same time on Thursday, September 30th at 8 PM ET/7 PM CT/5 PM PT. Below, stores are listed alphabetically. Choose your local store—or just one you’d love to support!—and follow the link to purchase tickets through the bookstore’s site.*

Sep 30 2021 (Thu)
Virtual
ANDERSON'S BOOKSHOP
11:00 PM CDT
Sep 30 2021 (Thu)
Virtual
BLUE WILLOW BOOKS
11:00 PM CDT
Sep 30 2021 (Thu)
Virtual
BOOKBAR
10:00 PM MDT
Sep 30 2021 (Thu)
Virtual
BOOKPEOPLE
11:00 PM CDT
Oct 01 2021 (Fri)
Virtual
BOOKS + BOOKS
12:00 AM EDT
Oct 01 2021 (Fri)
Virtual
BOOKS OF WONDER
12:00 AM EDT
Sep 30 2021 (Thu)
Virtual
CHANGING HANDS
10:00 PM MDT
Oct 01 2021 (Fri)
Virtual
CHILDREN'S BOOK WORLD
12:00 AM EDT
Oct 01 2021 (Fri)
Virtual
COMMUNITY BOOKSTORE
12:00 AM EDT
Oct 01 2021 (Fri)
Virtual
THE COUNTRY BOOKSHOP
12:00 AM EDT
Oct 01 2021 (Fri)
Virtual
JOSEPH-BETH BOOKSELLERS
12:00 AM EDT
Sep 30 2021 (Thu)
Virtual
THE KING'S ENGLISH
10:00 PM MDT
Oct 01 2021 (Fri)
Virtual
LITTLE SHOP OF STORIES
12:00 AM EDT
Sep 30 2021 (Thu)
Virtual
PAGES
9:00 PM PDT
Sep 30 2021 (Thu)
Virtual
THE NOVEL NEIGHBOR
11:00 PM CDT
Oct 01 2021 (Fri)
Virtual
QUAIL RIDGE BOOKS
12:00 AM EDT
Sep 30 2021 (Thu)
Virtual
RAKESTRAW BOOKS
9:00 PM PDT
Oct 01 2021 (Fri)
Virtual
RJ JULIA BOOKSELLERS
12:00 AM EDT
Oct 01 2021 (Fri)
Virtual
ROUNDABOUT BOOKS
12:00 AM EDT
Oct 01 2021 (Fri)
Virtual
SCHULER BOOKS
12:00 AM EDT
Oct 01 2021 (Fri)
Virtual
TITCOMB'S BOOKSHOP
12:00 AM EDT
Oct 01 2021 (Fri)
Virtual
AN UNLIKELY STORY
12:00 AM EDT
Sep 30 2021 (Thu)
Virtual
VILLAGE BOOKS
9:00 PM PDT
Oct 01 2021 (Fri)
Virtual
WORDS BOOKSTORE
12:00 AM EDT

About the Moderator

Josh Radnor is an actor, writer, director, musician and RJ Palacio fan originally from Columbus, Ohio. As an actor he has starred in long-running television shows (How I Met Your Mother), short-running television shows (Rise, Mercy Street), films (Joey Soloway's debut feature "Afternoon Delight"), on Broadway (The Graduate, Disgraced), and off. He is currently co-starring/hunting Nazis with Al Pacino in “Hunters” on Amazon Prime. He wrote and directed two feature films (Happythankyoumoreplease & Liberal Arts) both of which premiered at the Sundance Film Festival before being released in theaters, the former winning the 2010 Audience Award. For the last few years he's been making music with the Aussie musician Ben Lee as Radnor & Lee. He recently released his first solo EP “One More Then I’ll Let You Go” on Flower Moon Records. He lives in Los Angeles. 

Sign me up for news from The Parents Newsletter.
And also:
By clicking Sign Up, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House's Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.